Dynames Productions Blog

A blog to showcase my creative and technical work. Talk about what I like to talk about.

Humanity Moving in the WRONG direction?

Leave a comment

Note: This post may get a little heavy for some readers. It is one of those deep thought type of posts.

4946933

I was just struck by this thought very recently and the more I think about it, the more I’m convinced that we may not be in the golden age we may think to be in.

In terms of the economy, all around the world it is either up, down or simply put stable. Society wise it is either improving, stable or degrading. Technologically we are booming. This is where my concern comes in when faced with the question “Is humanity moving in the wrong direction?”

b5986f573077e70f575aa789ceceed48e2426509660ba464028af04e428ae224My answer to this question is going to be very subjective as I can only answer based off of my experiences and my perception of reality. Do keep that point in mind when you read any further from here on. Also, the points I make below are not meant to be a generalization, I realize my argument won’t apply to all.

Technological innovations seem to be heard about on a daily basis in first world countries. You can hear about them even in third world countries if you have the means to. But amidst all these innovations I feel as if we are drifting further from Mother Nature. This planet, it’s ecosystem we refer to as nature gave us life.

Yet here we are in a day and age where we place more emphasis on new technological innovations. We find more pleasure in technology than we do in nature. This point I’m sure is not applicable to everyone, there are still those who value nature over technology. But with the creation of social media platforms, eSociety platforms that aim to heavily integrate technology into running a society and our smart phones I feel we are getting lost amidst all this technology.

technology-addiction-300x336Maybe I’m just burnt out on all the technology I’m surrounded by or maybe I just yearn for a more nature driven lifestyle. But when I go on the train, I see people glued to their phones and tablets watching videos. There is a whole world around you, things to be seen, observed and learned. Yet people are glued to technology like its their god. Again this doesn’t apply to everyone, but from my experience I have seen the majority attract towards technology over nature.

I think we are moving in the wrong direction. If technology is used to enhance our existence as well as the existence of other animals, its cool. Look at using digital ways of documenting, sure helps the tree population. But when we come to things like social media platforms, eSociety platforms that have social media aspects to them, I tend to ponder just how will this enhance the world as a WHOLE on a general level?

Sometimes it feels like certain aspects of technology is taking over extremely important aspects of life. Social media for example, so many people use it on a daily basis so much so that sometimes they forget to have a proper face to face conversation. Or they become so reliant on these technologies it tends to take away some important social skills. I know from experience as social media has affected me quite a bit. No doubt this is also one of the reasons I seem to be growing a certain aversion to technology.

I would much rather see people with their heads up and with a smile on the train than glued to their phones. But hey, if you are watch something hilarious feel free to laugh out loud because laughter may just spread all around the carriage bringing a little bit of joy to everyone.

o-corrupt-money-facebookFrom my perspective, humanity is going in a very bad direction. We look up to the skies hoping to colonize on other planets through our technological innovations and marvels. Yet we can’t seem to solve some of the most serious issues we have right now down here. Issues like corruption, poverty, injustice and inequality. What good will moving out into space do us if we can’t seem to grow as a species? Humanity is still taking baby steps in psychological evolution as a species, yet hoping to take giant leaps in technological advancements.

At this point I simply feel like I’m rambling, so I may as well end this post soon. Simply put, maybe people need to step back from all the technology and again find what really made it worth living on this world. It was and still are the experiences we get through personally doing something worthwhile for others, the planet and not just be stuck to using technology all day long.

But hey, for what its worth I will give credit where it is due. Human species is not all bad as this post may make it seem to be, there are good qualities. But in a distorted world like ours, it seems to me that it takes more effort to find the good than the bad.

Still I know I feel like my mind is being sucked dry nowdays by using computers and phones too much. How about you?

What do you think of the direction humanity is taking?

~ Mohit

Author: Dynames Productions

Passionate about creative content creation of different varieties, programming and exploring new technologies.

Leave a Reply

